American Society of Cinematographers Awards 2021 Winners List

The American Society of Cinematographers handed out its top prize in feature film visual storytelling to Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for “Mank.”

Other winners included “The Crown,” “The Mandalorian” and “The Truffle Hunters”

Turner Classics Movie host, Ben Mankiewicz served as the emcee presenting the awards ceremony from the ASC clubhouse in Hollywood. During the ceremony, writer, producer and director Sofia Coppola was presented with the Board of Governors Award. Coppola accepted the award via Zoom and thanked her father “for having me on so many sets where I saw great cinematographers.”

The ASC represents the organization’s picks for the most compelling visual filmmaking over the past 14 months. Roger Deakins and James Deakins presented the award to Messerschmidt who beat out stiff competition from “Nomadland’s” Joshua James Richards.

This also marks the last guild and society to hand out their awards before the 93rd Academy Awards.

Full List of Winners:

Feature Film

Erik Messerschmidt, ASC (“Mank”)


Aurélien Marra (“Two of Us”)


Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw (“The Truffle Hunters”)

Motion Picture, Limited Series or Pilot Made for Television

Steven Meizler (“The Queen’s Gambit”) “End Game”

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Commercial

Jon Joffin, ASC (“Motherland: Fort Salem”) “Up is Down”

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Non-Commercial

Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown, “Imbroglio”

Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series

Baz Idoine (“The Mandalorian”) “Chapter 13: The Jedi”

Source link

Leave a Comment